121 Social Center in Brixton Evicted...

Hello friends and supporters, This morning at 6-30am 150 riot police backed by an armed squad and a helicopter sealed off Railton Rd and adjoining streets before bursting into 121 through the first floor window. Within minutes the 8 occupiers had been removed and the council went about trashing and barricading the building. A van of police continue to guard the building 16 hours later. Another van load have been stationed at the Town Hall building to guard against anti-council action. Protests and other actions against the eviction and planned auction of the building are currently being put together.

We are asking people to join the howls of protest against the council's evil actions and the continuing gentrification of Brixton. You can do so by emailing the people listed below on our our hit list or by joining an international fax protest planned for this coming Monday 16th August. The protest is aimed against the following people whom we ask that you send a nasty message (or black fax). This is a legal action so fax-Lambeth Legal Service- The people who put the case against 121 and the eviction together. Fax- 0171 926 2313 Nelson Bakewell- The speculators who want to sell off 121 along with hundreds of other properties to line the council's pockets.

Fax- 0171 544 2299.

Thanks, Friends of 121. Save 121 Hit List. Lambeth Council- C/O London Borough of Lambeth, Town Hall, Brixton Hill, London SW2 1RW. Tel- 0171 926 1000

Lambeth New Labour. Fax Number- 0171 926 2844. Email- new.labour@connect-2.co.uk (New Labour are the party currently in control of the council and therefore the ones most responsible for attacks on 121. Specify email messages for New Labour- New Lambeth).

Brixton Challenge- brixchal@mplc.co.uk (The organisation responsible for the increasing gentrification of Brixton)

Lambeth Councillors. Councillor David Griffiths, 35 Abbotswood Rd, SW16 1AJ Telephone & FAX: 0181 769 2600 E-Mail: griffiths@lambeth.tory.org.uk

Councillor Hugh Jones, Room 123, Lambeth Town Hall, SW2 1RW FAX: 0171 926 2845 E-Mail: Hugh.Jones@lambeth.tory.org.uk

Cllr Steve Reed 0181 674 8316, Email sreed@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Ty Goddard 0171 207 0580, Email tgoddard@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Jackie Meldrum 0181 671 5595, Email jmelrdum@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Johanna Sherrington 0171 737 3290, Email jsherrington@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Alex McKenna 0181 677 6569, Email amckenna@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Kitty Ussher 0171 771 0202, Email kussher@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Michael Cruickshanks 0171 926 2123, Email mcruickshanks@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Obi Anyanwu Email danyanwu@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Ambrose Hogan Email ahogan@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Simon Stevens Email sstevens@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Leslie Boodram Email lboodram@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Steven Bourne Email sbourne@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Ruth Ling Email rling@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Martin McEwan Email mmcewan@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Roland Doven Email rdoven@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Michael English Email menglish@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Chris Henley Email chenley@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Claudette Hewitt Email chewitt@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Mohammed Abu-Bakr Email mabu-bakr@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Richard Jarman rjarman@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Paul McGlone Email pmcglone@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Jim Dickson Email jdickson@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Peter O'Connell Email poconnell@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Kirsty McHugh Email kmchugh@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Paul Connolly Email pconnolly@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Colin Crooks ccrooks@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Kevin Craig Email kcraig@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Rupert Bawden Email rbawden@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Esther Green Email egreen@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Tom Franklin Email tfranklin@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Toren Smith Email tjsmith@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Judith Brodie Email jbrodie@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Hugh David Email jbrodie@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Abigail Melville Email jbrodie@lambeth.gov.uk


back 2 mainpage